

Greetings from Pi Lambda Sigma Chapter at the original iSchool!

Dear Members,

The big news from National Beta Phi Mu is that they have a new office, the contract with FSU having expired. The new office is located at Drexel University in Philadelphia, and the new Executive Director is Dr. Alison Lewis. Program Director is Erin Gabriele. See their website <www.beta-phi-mu.org>. Newsletters are posted there each spring and fall.

Our 109th Annual Chapter Meeting and Initiation and our 53rd anniversary as an affiliate of Beta Phi Mu were celebrated on Saturday, May 12. At our luncheon, we initiated 22 new members into our Society, representing the 2011-12 graduate classes. Our event followed the iSchool's Convocation and was held at the Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel and Conference Center. Our guest speaker for the day was Amy Dickinson, "Ask Amy" nationally syndicated newspaper columnist and author of the best-selling "The Mighty Queens of Freeville". Books and weekly visits to her local public library while growing up were very special to Amy's family. Amy shared many inspiring stories from her life and book and of her beloved small town of Freeville, near Syracuse. Autographing followed.

Initiated *in person* were: Rachael L. Altman, Asia Bonacci, Rose Ann Burdick, Alice M, Leach, Mary P. McGregor, Charlene L. Martin, Lisa R. Matthews, Emily C. Weyant, and Julianne M. Wise.

Initiated *in absentia* were: Trisha L. Adamus, Jessie E. Baldwin, Marie L. Banach, Lauren M. Britton, Denice M. Buchanan, Julia A. Corrice, Adrienne E. Fedyna, Erin M. McCaughtry, Chelsea Neary, Margaret C. Portier, Katharine A. St. Laurent, Katherine E. Taddeo, and Jennifer M Whittaker.

Under the leadership of President Linda Galloway of the Syracuse University Libraries, we currently have more than 200 "active" members, those who have paid their Chapter dues in the last 3 years. Members paying "current dues" are eligible for our continuing education grant and our Mullen Award to assist attending summer ALA and the annual BPM national meeting. Board member Ellen Owens represented us this past summer in Anaheim.

Our Executive Board manages our Chapter's affairs, financial aid programs, and listserv and website. For 2012, we awarded one Dosa Scholarship to Paul Retkwa, and two Van Hoesen Loans. Thank you for your contributions to these accounts, as this is the main mission of our Society. We are also seeking to fill two Board vacancies, as new jobs and commitments take former members elsewhere. If you are located in the Syracuse area and interested in a 2-year term, please contact us. Continuing to lead us this fall in addition to our President are Past President Abby Kasowitz-Scheer, Recording Secretary Brian Dobreski, Corresponding Secretary Susan Slenker, Treasurer Suzanne Preate, Membership Chair Christine Demetros, Scholarship Chairs Gary Maggi and Valarie Massulik, Board members Ellen Owens and Carole Kupelian, and Faculty Advisor Dr. Megan Oakleaf.

At the iSchool, we use our website and iSchool listserv < <u>ischool.syr.edu</u>> to promote our no-interest loans fund and our scholarship fund to deserving and academically-gifted students. Visit us online, or follow us on Twitter @BPM_Syracuse.

From Susan Slenker, Corresponding Secretary, jslenker@twcny.rr.com